WHAT EVERY PARENT SHOULD KNOW

INFORMATION ALL PARENTS NEED TO KNOW

Are you ready parents? More importantly, are those kids who have been car seat FREE going to be ready to be back in seats starting Aug. 2?
The new car seat law in Arizona, effective Aug. 2, is changing. It will require children ages 5 - 7 and shorter than 4'10" tall to ride in a vehicle in a booster seat. This new law has extended the amount of time a child must be restrained by three years than the previous law.
The new law is aimed to reduce the amount of fatalities among children in our state. It is scary to think about, but the reality is that in Arizona, seven out of nine nine children between ages 5 and 7 who died in a vehicle crash in 2009 were not properly restrained in a booster seat, according to Arizona Department of Health Services.
Here are some important tips about car seats tha parents need to know about:
(The following are required by Arizona State Law)
1. All people riding in the front seat MUST wear a seatbelt regardless of age.
2. All children under the age of 5 years MUST be in a child restraint (car seat).
3. Infants from birth until 1 year old AND less than 20 pounds MUST be positioned in a reclining infant car seat facing backwards.
4. Toddlers from 1 to 5 years AND 20 to 40 pounds MUST be positioned in an upright toddler car seat facing forwards or backwards.
(The following are recommended, but not required by Arizona State Law)
5. Infants are safest in the car when facing backwards for as long as possible. Your child can safely face backwards as long as his/her head is 1 inch below the top of the car seat and there is room for his/her legs.
6. Move your child to a larger car seat before they reach the maximum weight limit. Testing reveals that the mounting clamps can fail in an accident when the child nears the weight limit. If your child reaches the weight maximum for the infant car seat before age 1, he/she must continue to face backwards in the bigger toddler seat at least until after the first birthday.
7. Children from 40-80 lbs. and under 4’9” should be in a booster seat. Automobile accidents are the #1 cause of death among 5 to 8 year olds. They also have a 58% greater risk of injury if they are only wearing a seat belt compared to a booster seat.
8. All children under the age of 13 should ride in the back seat. Never place a rear facing car seat in the front seat if the air bag is activated. Severe injury or death can result.
9. Never reuse a car seat after an accident. Car seats should be replaced every 3-5 years since the Arizona sun destroys the plastic. Never buy or borrow a used car seat for your child unless you are sure of the seat’s history and age.
10. Never drive anywhere for any distance with unrestrained passengers. Never allow children to unbuckle their belts - even for a moment. Never drive with children in the back of a pickup truck.

 

http://nscottsdale.macaronikid.com/article/331987/new-az-car-seat-law-goes-into-effect-today-aug-2

Please Make Note

Please make note that I, Jessica Lynn Hepner the creator of What Every Parent Should Know, is not giving legal advice. I am not a lawyer. I am giving you knowledge via first hand experiences.

Google+ Badge

Powered by Blogger.

About Me

My Photo
Jessica Lynn Hepner
View my complete profile

Featured Post

Guide To Child Protection Services

WHAT EVERY PARENT SHOULD KNOW INFORMATION ALL PARENTS NEED TO KNOW Thursday, November 1, 2012 Guide to CPS Guide to CPS Child Protective Se...

Contact Form

Name

Email *

Message *

Google+ Followers

Total Pageviews

Search This Blog

Ways To Support Syncretism

Blog Archive

Search This Blog

Labels

Translate

Save A Life by Angie Kassabie

Save A Life by Angie Kassabie
I URGE ALL MY FRIENDS TO READ & SHARE THIS; YOU COULD SAVE A LOVED ONES LIFE BY KNOWING THIS SIMPLE INFORMATION!!! Stroke has a new indicator! They say if you forward this to ten people, you stand a chance of saving one life. Will you send this along? Blood Clots/Stroke - They Now Have a Fourth Indicator, the Tongue: During a BBQ, a woman stumbled and took a little fall - she assured everyone that she was fine (they offered to call paramedics) ...she said she had just tripped over a brick because of her new shoes. They got her cleaned up and got her a new plate of food. While she appeared a bit shaken up, Jane went about enjoying herself the rest of the evening. Jane's husband called later telling everyone that his wife had been taken to the hospital - (at 6:00 PM Jane passed away.) She had suffered a stroke at the BBQ. Had they known how to identify the signs of a stroke, perhaps Jane would be with us today. Some don't die. They end up in a helpless, hopeless condition instead. It only takes a minute to read this. A neurologist says that if he can get to a stroke victim within 3 hours he can totally reverse the effects of a stroke...totally. He said the trick was getting a stroke recognized, diagnosed, and then getting the patient medically cared for within 3 hours, which is tough. >>RECOGNIZING A STROKE<< Thank God for the sense to remember the '3' steps, STR. Read and Learn! Sometimes symptoms of a stroke are difficult to identify. Unfortunately, the lack of awareness spells disaster. The stroke victim may suffer severe brain damage when people nearby fail to recognize the symptoms of a stroke. Now doctors say a bystander can recognize a stroke by asking three simple questions: S *Ask the individual to SMILE. T *Ask the person to TALK and SPEAK A SIMPLE SENTENCE (Coherently) (i.e. Chicken Soup) R *Ask him or her to RAISE BOTH ARMS. If he or she has trouble with ANY ONE of these tasks, call emergency number immediately and describe the symptoms to the dispatcher. New Sign of a Stroke -------- Stick out Your Tongue NOTE: Another 'sign' of a stroke is this: Ask the person to 'stick' out his tongue. If the tongue is 'crooked', if it goes to one side or the other that is also an indication of a stroke. A cardiologist says if everyone who gets this e-mail sends it to 10 people; you can bet that at least one life will be saved. I have done my part. Will you?

Popular Posts

Edit here

call Veteran Crisis @ 1-800-273-8255 press 1 or you can private/confidential chat to VeteransCrisisLine.net or text to 838255... Veterans Crisis Line | Hotline, Online Chat & Text Free, confidential support for Veterans in crisis and... VETERANSCRISISLINE.NET http://veteranscrisisline.net/

Recent Posts

Labels